Posted in Food & Travel, Quick Dinners, Recipes, Restaurant Experiences, The Market

Food Snob Returns: It’s 2014.

I am really bad at remembering to post on here and that this exists. I love writing and cooking, but that doesn’t mean that I have my shit together, unfortunately.

This Fall, Thanksgiving and Christmas were awesome – ending in the devastating beating my Broncos took in Superbowl XLVIII Sunday night – and 2014 has been fantastic so far. My brief hiatus was due to the fact that I started the MFA program in Creative Writing at Emerson College in September and I will be enrolled until May 2015, the earliest. However, that doesn’t mean I haven’t had time to try some new recipes or go out and sample some new eats. My goals in 2014 are to take more yoga classes and utilize my blog the way that I intended to, which is good news to anyone who likes the type of food I like.

I have the privilege of owning Giada’s new book, Feel Good Food, which I received as a Christmas gift. (I also subscribe to Giada’s digital weekly magazine on my iPhone via Newsstand, and it is fabulous.) I have also been racking my brain for a recap of any restaurant bites I may have enjoyed (or not enjoyed) recently and I hope I can provide at least a few – it’s tough to go out to eat at this time of the year when it’s better to cook and be in sweatpants all day. I have a pretty healthy to-do list, though, for new places to try and will be traveling to West Yarmouth, MA (Cape Cod) for a one-night Valentine’s getaway next week, which will hopefully include another discovery!

Recipes for this post: Meatless Mexican Rice Bowl,  ‘My Favorite Things’ Salad

20140204-092206.jpg
The ‘My Favorite Things’ Salad
20140204-092226.jpg
One of my favorite wintertime snacks: ruby red grapefruit sprinkled with just a little bit of sugar.

I had to include a picture of one of the beautiful ruby reds I have been getting at Trader Joe’s because they’re one of my favorite things in the entire world. They’re in season right now, so they’ve been especially delicious and perfect for snacking between meals on something sweet without the guilt.

The ‘My Favorite Things’ Salad was comprised mostly of leftovers and inspired by the arugula salad they’re serving up at Providence Coal Fired Pizza – I would highly recommend it, along with the broccoli rabe & sausage pizza. For this salad, I tossed some baby arugula with shaved fennel, leftover roasted sweet potatoes, halved grape tomatoes and shaved proscuitto (I prefer Proscuitto di Parma, but any will do) with a balsamic vinaigrette to which I added lemon juice for a nice, fresh flavor. This salad was a good serving size for lunch OR dinner: I would say I used a couple handfuls of arugula and about 1/4 cup of each of the other ingredients, with the exception of the fennel which was only a few tablespoons. This one was not the scientific or measured recipe because it was one of those ‘What do I have in the fridge?’ recipes that I sort of flung together without taking notes.

Meatless Mexican Rice Bowl

I’m always craving this delicious mixture of Fiesta Sides Spanish Rice, chopped up hot dogs and melted cheese that Mike’s mom makes from time to time, so I tried a bunch of combinations of things to make a (somewhat) healthier version of it until I found one that worked. This recipe makes just enough for a big lunch or moderate dinner portion.

Ingredients:

1/3 c. jasmine rice

1/4 c. canned (sweet) corn

1/4 c. canned black beans (no salt added preferably)

2-3 tbsp. halved grape tomatoes or quartered cherry tomatoes

1-2 tsp. cumin

1-2 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. ground chipotle pepper

2 tbsp. Mexican-blend shredded cheese

Preparation:

Boil rice with 1 tsp. each of cumin & chili powder according to package directions. Just before rice is done with heat still on low/simmer, stir in the rest of the spices, corn, black beans and tomatoes. (Add more spice to taste, I like it spicy!) Cover until tomatoes are soft and begin to create a reddish color in the rice. Stir until tomatoes have broken down completely, then sprinkle cheese over the top and cover to melt. Serve with chucks or slices of avocado on top.

 

I wish I had a photo of that rice bowl because I was so thrilled when the recipe turned out the results I had been looking for, but I don’t. I’ll try to provide photos with my recipes whenever possible in the future. I don’t have ANY photos, unfortunately, of the delicious bites I’ve had recently either, but I will share a couple.

The Italian Corner, East Providence: Absolutely 100% authentic Italian deli serving up some of the best sandwiches I’ve ever had the privilege of tasting. They’re house dressing is the most delicious basil-pesto-y concoction I’ve ever had in my life to date. Of course I had a caprese sandwich (tomato, mozzarella, fresh basil) with some added Proscuitto di Parma, but I can’t wait to go back and explore the  menu more.

Corner Bakery Cafe, Warwick & Cranston: This place is a chain, I know, but I’ve been waiting for it to be built in Garden City Center and now there is also one on Route 2. I loved it from my first visit because everything is made FRESH to order! (Unlike Panera, blegh.) I had a delicious chicken tortilla soup here (which inspired me to try making my own tortilla soup – recipe coming soon!) paired with a club sandwich of turkey, bacon, avocado, lettuce, tomato & mayo. YUM! There’s also table service for your food so you don’t have to carry a big heavy buzzer with you and get up to go get your food off of a counter where there is a crowd of people waiting and worry about leaving all your personal belongings unattended. It’s great!

The Mooring, Newport: I enjoyed a lovely dinner with my mom and grandma on a snowy Saturday night in Newport before attending Christmas at the Breakers. I was not 100% satisfied with my choice of entree, which was mostly my own fault, but the crab cakes I had as an appetizer were outrageous. There were a few options on the menu that I would return to test before making a decision based on that one menu selection (it was sort of a take on a Monte Cristo but was way more than any person can handle in one sandwich).

I can’t wait to have some more new bites in the upcoming months and try out some more recipes that I can share with you. I’ve been trying to eat the most balanced diet possible and include as many greens as my appetite will allow. I’m also excited about juicing and trying some of Giada’s mixtures as well as others in order to get that delicious kind of raw flavor I’m always looking for in the shakes/juices I buy at the market. I’ll be sure to include my successes and failures in upcoming posts.

Until next time,

❤ The Food Snob

Leave a Reply

