Posted in Uncategorized

My Latest Obsession

Being that it’s the winter and it’s getting chillier and chillier outside, I’ve been trying new methods for staying warm. Last week I shared a recipe for some soup with a kick. This week I shared some information regarding my exercise habits, which is another way to keep warm (trust me).

Another thing I’ve been doing is adding some daily spice to some of my favorite things. And they are associated with breakfast, which is my favorite meal of the day.

 

The Perfect Over-Medium Egg

 

What you’ll need: 1 large egg, red pepper flakes (a pinch), butter to melt before dropping.

Methodology:

Melt butter (a sliver, make sure it covers the bottom of the pan enough that the egg can slide around in it) in a skillet or pan over medium-high heat. Sprinkle a pinch of red pepper flakes into the butter.

Crack and break egg into the pan, be sure the yolk stays in tact, be gentle!

Cook the egg until the whites are almost cooked through (about 2-3 minutes at most), then flip using some wrist action, or a spatula if you’re not on that level, and turn off heat, let the whites finish cooking without fully cooking the yolk (about 1-2 minutes).

Slide the deliciousness onto a plate. BOOM! Spicy egg.

For an added level of awesome: toast a piece of bread, spread a tiny amount of butter on it, then sprinkle some of your favorite shredded cheese. Slide the egg on top of the cheese and give it a few seconds to get nice and melty. Cut the piece of toast down the middle, fold into a sandwich and sop up any yolk that falls on the plate in the meantime. YUM!

 

The Perfect Cup of Christmas Season Coffee

I very much enjoy the amount of alliteration I just used in that title. So, I enjoy flavored coffee as much as the next basic white girl. Especially in my home state and town. We Rhody girls are big on our flavored coffee, though some of us drink what to most would be considered coffee milk and not actual coffee. For me, the best cup of coffee tastes like coffee and is smooth, nutty, medium-brown, warming and round.

Instead of drinking pumpkin spice first thing in the morning during this fall and holiday season, I have been adding the tiniest bit (probably 1/4 teaspoon) of cinnamon to my coffee in the morning. And it is magical.

The important thing to note: the best results come from putting cinnamon in the cup before adding the coffee. Especially if, like me, you have Keruig. The reason for this is simply that the cinnamon can stay in one giant clump if you add a little spoon of it to a cup o’ joe. However, if you have a shaker of cinnamon instead of a plastic container from your dad’s restaurant, like most normal people?, you can shake a little bit at a time and stir it in with ease.

 

Enjoy all, and Happy Holidays!

Until next time,

Food Snob

Leave a Reply

